diofav 23

Catholic News Herald

Serving Christ and Connecting Catholics in Western North Carolina

042817 debateCHARLOTTE — Charlotte Catholic High School’s Debate and Speech Team was named runner-up (second place) in the North Carolina State Championship. The team also earned third place in the Steven Davis Award of Excellence in Debate.

Thirty-seven members of the Charlotte Catholic High School Debate and Speech Team were selected to compete in the 40th Tarheel Forensic League state championship tournament April 1-2 at Southview High School and Southview Middle School in Fayetteville. More than 575 students from 34 schools across North Carolina competed.

The following members received individual debate awards:
- David Edwards: second place, Junior Varsity Lincoln-Douglas

- Caleb Schilly and Charles Haltiwanger: second place, Junior Varsity Public Forum

- Jack Kelly and David Williams: Junior Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Quarter-Finalist

- TJ DiVittorio and Joe Dicristo: Junior Varsity Public Forum Quarter-Finalist

- Paul Gennett and Kendyl James: Varsity Public Forum Octa-Finalist

- Austin Franks and Louis Ciano: Junior Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Octa-Finalist

- AJ Sciacca and Omeed Arooji: Junior Varsity Public Forum Octa-Finalist

- Ramsey White and Elizabeth Gregory: Junior Varsity Public Forum Octa-Finalist

- Will McKane and Fletcher Curran: Junior Varsity Public Forum Double Octa-Finalist

The following members received individual speech awards:

- Darlene Singui-Tanyi: Program Oral Interpretation State Champion and third place in Dramatic Interpretation

- Uwa Akhere: Second place in Dramatic Interpretation and semi-finalist in Humorous Interpretation

- Emily Ford: Semi-finalist in Humorous Interpretation and quarter-finalist in Impromptu Speaking

- Myia Legrande: Semi-finalist in Dramatic Interpretation and quarter-finalist in Program Oral Interpretation

- Brenna McBride: Semi-finalist in Dramatic Interpretation

- Samantha Pean, Mariana Rodriguez and Kathryn Barnabei: Semi-finalists in Declamation

— Mary A. Morales and Carolyn Kramer Tillman